Dental Hygiene FAQ
- I will be completing my last prerequisite course in session I in December. When should I apply for a seat in the August class?
- You need to apply from April 1 through May 30 for fall admission each year.
- How are students selected? What can I do to guarantee a seat?
- All students who apply for a given class will be ranked according to a combination of the prerequisite GPA, overall college GPA and Pasco or Hernando county residency. Applicants with the highest composite scores will be selected. Because the size of the applicant pool will change each year, there is no way to guarantee a student's entry.
- When is the deadline for me to apply to the dental hygiene program?
- Applications for the August class will be accepted between April 1 and May 30. The application must ARRIVE at the West Campus admissions office by 4 p.m. on May 30. If May 30 falls on a weekend or holiday, the application deadline will fall on the next business day.
- Can I apply if I do not live in Pasco or Hernando county?
- Yes, however, residents of Pasco and Hernando counties are weighted differently than non‐residents.
- When will I find out if I have been selected for the next dental hygiene class?
- The selection committee will meet in mid June, and letters should be sent out by mid July.
- I am very anxious to find out about my application. Can I call the dental hygiene office or my advisor in July to find out if I have been accepted?
- No. This information will be sent by postal mail. It will not be released by any other source.
- If I am not selected this year, can I reapply in subsequent years?
- Yes, you may reapply each year.
- I was picked as an alternate for last August, but was not selected. Does this mean that I will automatically be selected the following year?
- No, anyone not selected for admission, as an alternate or otherwise, must reapply for subsequent years.
- I dropped out of the dental hygiene program and want to reenter. How do I proceed?
- If you dropped the dental hygiene program in your first semester without successfully completing a single DEH/DES course, you must reapply. If you completed one or more DEH/DES courses successfully, you should follow "Readmission to Limited Access Health Programs" listed in the catalog/student handbook
Pursuant to Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, the Florida Board of Nursing, Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, and the Bureau of Health Care Practitioner Regulation shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant has been:
- Convicted or plead guilty or nolo contendere to a felony violation regardless of adjudication of: chapters 409 (Social Welfare), 817 (Fraudulent Practices), and 893 (Drug Abuse Prevention and Control), unless the sentence and any probation or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the application.
- Terminated for cause from Florida Medicaid Program (unless the applicant has been in good standing for the most recent five years).
- Terminated for cause by any other State Medicaid Program or the Medicare Program (unless the termination was at least 20 years prior to the date of the application and the applicant has been in good standing with the program for the most recent five years).
The change in Florida Statute 456.0635 indicates that if a student’s criminal background check reflects a conviction involving any of the above categories, the student will not be eligible to apply or receive a Florida license, or to sit for a certification examination if it is applicable to the program they are intending to apply for.