- This is a limited access program with 12 seats available per year with a new class starting every August
- This program requires passing a manual dexterity test at a minimum level of 60 percent; the test is offered at PHSC Career Assessment and Testing offices.
- Upon successful completion of program requirements, the graduate receives an Associate in Science in Dental Hygiene degree and is eligible to sit for the Dental Hygiene National Board exam and all State licensing exams.
- For 2015 only, any student applying to the dental hygiene program will not have to take SPC 2608 as a prerequisite, but will have to take it within their first year of the program.
Pursuant to Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, the Florida Board of Nursing, Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, and the Bureau of Health Care Practitioner Regulation shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant has been:
- Convicted or plead guilty or nolo contendere to a felony violation regardless of adjudication of: chapters 409 (Social Welfare), 817 (Fraudulent Practices), and 893 (Drug Abuse Prevention and Control), unless the sentence and any probation or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the application.
- Terminated for cause from Florida Medicaid Program (unless the applicant has been in good standing for the most recent five years).
- Terminated for cause by any other State Medicaid Program or the Medicare Program (unless the termination was at least 20 years prior to the date of the application and the applicant has been in good standing with the program for the most recent five years).
The change in Florida Statute 456.0635 indicates that if a student’s criminal background check reflects a conviction involving any of the above categories, the student will not be eligible to apply or receive a Florida license, or to sit for a certification examination if it is applicable to the program they are intending to apply for.