You are here

Employee Giving

Giving Back Moving ForwardEmployees are the heart of the College. Every day you make a difference. Your dedicated work as faculty and staff shape the lives of students, ensure the vitality of the College and strengthen our community. You play a key role in carrying out the College’s mission of providing an accessible, diverse learning environment rich with opportunities for our students.

PHCC employee, Ron Green
“This is my way as a PHSC employee, to give back in a way that benefits eligible students that are in need of financial assistance” --Ron Green, staff member
An integral part of providing these opportunities is the support of the PHSC Foundation. Your contributions have funded scholarships for students, campus improvement projects, classroom equipment, technology upgrades and the overall mission of the College.

With your support of the 2014 PHSC Employee Giving Campaign, we can increase our margin of excellence. Our goal is for 80 percent participation, no matter how large or small the donation. You will receive a “PHSC Donor” ribbon to proudly wear on your name badge and recognition in the annual report and PHSC website. You will also be eligible for the many exciting contests and prizes planned throughout the campaign.

Discover what your gift supports
The purpose of the PHSC Foundation is to enable the College to achieve its goals. The support of private donors allows the Foundation to provide about $1.2 million to the College annually.

Help us reach our goal

Year Participation Employees Amount Raised
2009 50% 182 of 366 $29,928
2010 54% 221 of 408 $29,817
2011 63% 269 of 425 $32,455
2012 76% 330 of 434 $38,802
2013 80.56% 340 of 422 $50,262

PHSC initiatives supported by the Foundation in 2014 include:

  • Scholarship awards each year
  • Technology projects, equipment and library resources
  • Campus construction and renovation
  • Staff and faculty development, faculty research chairs and sabbaticals
  • Student recruitment and retention programs
  • Employee orientation
  • Employee service awards
  • Teaching Excellence Award
  • All College Day

Faculty and staff development awards recipients

  • Shirley Cherry
  • Edilia Marshall
  • Guy McCann

Most donors choose to make an unrestricted gift, which is directed where the need is greatest. Other donors choose to restrict their gifts to specific initiatives.

Decide on a level for your gift
Giving is a personal decision. Your participation reflects a strong commitment to the College and its future. Employee giving is so important to the success of the College that we encourage all employees to give at any level. The power that each employee has to impact the future, even with a small gift, is tremendous! Having a successful Employee Giving Campaign is not only a wonderful example of the generosity of our family of employees, but it is a crucial speaking point when foundation staff is meeting with potential donors as well as a critical question on many grant requests. To be able to report that PHSC employees are so passionate about the mission that they are willing to make a charitable contribution, even during tough economic times, makes a lasting impact.

How to give
One of the fastest, easiest and most convenient ways to make a gift is through payroll deduction. By completing the payroll deduction form, you decide how much to be automatically deducted from each paycheck and where your support may be designated. Payroll deduction will continue until the Foundation receives written notice from you to increase, decrease or stop deductions.

If you choose to give $1 per pay period, you will have a total contribution of $24 by the end of one year. A gift of $5 per pay period allows for a total contribution of $120. You can determine the size of your gift according to your financial capacity. No gift is too small.

You may also make a contribution to the Foundation by completing the response card and enclosing a gift. Please contact the Foundation if you would like to discuss named gift opportunities or have additional questions on directing your support.

2014 Committee Members

  • East Campus
    Vicki Ferguson
    Gabriela Perez
  • North Campus
    Cary Cox
  • Porter Campus
    Laura Raposa
  • Spring Hill Campus
    Mary Carpenter
    Karin Glessner
  • West Campus
    Elizabeth Bobbie
    Courtney Boettcher
    Michelle Bullwinkel
    Julie Monsegur
    Ed Siegel
    Debby Strasser
    Jodi Van Slee