Special Notice

  • Students entering this program should have basic computer skills
  • Clinical agencies require the student to submit a negative criminal background check and drug screening
  • The North Campus, Brooksville, admits 36 students to their fall day program yearly.
  • The West Campus admits 36 students into the fall afternoon/evening program. Students attend classes Monday through Thursday from 3–10 p.m. and are either on campus or at clinicals every other weekend during the day.
  • The Porter Campus at Wiregrass Ranch admits 24 students into the spring afternoon/evening program. Students attend classes Monday through Thursday from 3–10 p.m. and are either on campus or at clinicals every other weekend during the day. 
  • Upon successful completion of this program, the graduate is eligible to apply to sit for the National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses in accordance with regulations set forth in the Nurse Practice Act, Chapter 464.008 and 464.108. A graduate is also eligible to apply for admission to the Associate Degree in Nursing Program at the ADN-LPN entry point.

Important Notice

Pursuant to Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, the Florida Board of Nursing, Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, and the Bureau of Health Care Practitioner Regulation shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant has been:

  1. Convicted or plead guilty or nolo contendere to a felony violation regardless of adjudication of: chapters 409 (Social Welfare), 817 (Fraudulent Practices), and 893 (Drug Abuse Prevention and Control), unless the sentence and any probation or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the application.
  2. Terminated for cause from Florida Medicaid Program (unless the applicant has been in good standing for the most recent five years).
  3. Terminated for cause by any other State Medicaid Program or the Medicare Program (unless the termination was at least 20 years prior to the date of the application and the applicant has been in good standing with the program for the most recent five years).

The change in Florida Statute 456.0635 indicates that if a student’s criminal background check reflects a conviction involving any of the above categories, the student will not be eligible to apply or receive a Florida license, or to sit for a certification examination if it is applicable to the program they are intending to apply for.