- A physical examination certifying satisfactory health is required
- Clinical agencies require the student to submit a negative criminal background check and drug screening
- Twenty students are admitted annually into this limited access program
- Students will attend an educational seminar in Atlanta, Ga. (even years) or Orlando, Fla. (odd years)
- Students attend classes Monday through Friday from 8 a.m.–5 p.m.
- Upon successful completion of this program, the graduate receives an Associate in Science in Radiography degree and is eligible to apply for a State General Radiographer’s License and sit for the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist (ARRT) National Credentialing examination. The cost for the first-time examinee is $200. The graduate will also be eligible to apply for a temporary state license issued by the Department of Health, Bureau of Radiation Control. The cost is $50 payable to the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Radiation Control.
Pursuant to Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, the Florida Board of Nursing, Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, and the Bureau of Health Care Practitioner Regulation shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant has been:
- Convicted or plead guilty or nolo contendere to a felony violation regardless of adjudication of: chapters 409 (Social Welfare), 817 (Fraudulent Practices), and 893 (Drug Abuse Prevention and Control), unless the sentence and any probation or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the application.
- Terminated for cause from Florida Medicaid Program (unless the applicant has been in good standing for the most recent five years).
- Terminated for cause by any other State Medicaid Program or the Medicare Program (unless the termination was at least 20 years prior to the date of the application and the applicant has been in good standing with the program for the most recent five years).
The change in Florida Statute 456.0635 indicates that if a student’s criminal background check reflects a conviction involving any of the above categories, the student will not be eligible to apply or receive a Florida license, or to sit for a certification examination if it is applicable to the program they are intending to apply for.