Pasco-Hernando State College (PHSC) honored Susan Duval, Heather Fiorentino, Katherine Johnson, Carol Morsani, Madeline Pumariega and Tonjua Williams with Trailblazer awards at the Empowered! PHSC Women in Education Conference held on March 6 at the West Campus in New Port Richey. The Trailblazer awards recognize women who have made a difference in education within the community or their profession.

Susan Duval, is the board chair of the Hernando County School Board. Heather Fiorentino, is the former superintendent of Pasco County Schools. Katherine Johnson, Ed.D., is president emerita of Pasco-Hernando State College. Carol Morsani is the director of the Frank and Carol Morsani Foundation, Inc., and a philanthropist and community leader in the Tampa Bay area. Madeline Pumariega, Ph.D., is the executive vice president and provost of Tallahassee Community College and former chancellor of the Florida College System. Tonjua Williams, Ph.D., is the president of St. Petersburg College.

For more information visit the PHSC Women's Conference 2020 website.

Photo caption: 

From left: Empowered panelists and trailblazers in education: Heather Fiorentino, former Pasco County Schools superintendent; Katherine Johnson, Ed.D., president emerita, PHSC; Madeline Pumariega, executive vice president and provost, Tallahassee Community College; Timothy L. Beard, Ph.D., PHSC President; Carol Morsani, director, Frank and Carol Morsani Foundation, Inc.; Tonjua Williams, Ph.D., president, St. Petersburg College; and Jennifer Wells China, Ph.D., South Campus president, Hillsborough Community College. Not pictured: Carol Duval, board chair, Hernando County School Board.