The Pasco-Hernando State College District Board of Trustees elected board leaders at a meeting held on Monday, February 28 at the college’s Spring Hill Campus. In a unanimous decision, Trustees John Mitten and Lee Maggard were elected to respectively serve as chair and vice-chair of the board. The terms for both leadership positions will extend through the College’s 50th Anniversary Celebration, to begin July 1, 2022, and conclude on June 30, 2023.

Mitten, of Brooksville, former Hernando County Commissioner, owns and operates Hernando County’s only Chick-Fil-A franchise. He serves on the gubernatorially-appointed Southwest Florida Management District Board and is actively involved in service and community organizations, including the Greater Hernando Chamber of Commerce, Jericho Road Ministries, Hope Children’s Home, MissioSERVE Alliance and the Restoration Center of Florida. Mitten, a PHSC trustee appointed in 2018, succeeds previous board chair, Rao Musunuru, M.D., whose resignation from the board was effective February 22.

Maggard, Vice President, Credit Officer for BankFlorida in Dade City, has been employed in the banking industry for 12 years. A lifelong resident of East Pasco County and a PHSC alumnus, he has served on the board since 2018.

“John Mitten and Lee Maggard are experienced, dedicated board members and exemplary community representatives,” said PHSC President Timothy L. Beard, Ph.D. “Both trustees are passionate about higher education and their leadership will guide the college through our 50th Anniversary Year.”

“We also appreciate the many years of dedicated service provided by previous chair, Rao Musunuru, M.D.,” continued Beard, “Dr. Musunuru is counted among the longest-serving trustees in the Florida College System and has supported countless PHSC initiatives and student scholarships.”