Application Cycles

Spring Academy

January 13–May 5, 2025

Spring Academy Important Dates
Date Activity
October 7 - November 7, 2024 Application Window
November 19, 2024 Physical Ability Test (PAT)
January 13, 2025

First Day of Academy

Job Outlook

According to the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity, employment of firefighters is expected to grow by about 4.5% between 2022 and 2030.

Job Potential Earnings

According to the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity in 2021, firefighters in Florida earned $34,507 as entry level salaries with the average salary being $53,477.

Special Notice

The Fire Academy courses are daytime only, Monday through Thursday. 

Application Process

  1. Apply to the College to become a PHSC student.
  2. Obtain, complete, and submit the Fire Academy Application Packet. Request the application packet at

Academy Admission Requirements

  • Have a clean criminal background check with no felonies and clean driving record.
  • Must complete a medical clearance form known as the Florida State Fire College form: DFS-K4-1022.
  • Must be able to pass the Candidate Physical Assessment Test to be hired in most agencies.
  • Physical requirements for PHSC Academy measure aerobic endurance, core strength and upper body strength.
  • Hold a current CPR certification from the American Heart Association or American Red Cross. Higher levels of certification, such as Advanced Cardiac Life Support will also be accepted, but are not required.
  • Applicants must complete and have signed and witnessed by notary both the Academy Application and the State of Florida Tobacco Affidavit. Documents are required by State Law.

Scholarship Opportunities

Several scholarship funding options are available to eligible cadets.

  • CareerSource of Pasco and Hernando Counties
  • PHSC Foundation

Money-Back Guarantee Program

The Money-Back Guarantee is a tuition refund program under Section 1011.803, Florida Statutes for students who complete eligible workforce education programs and are not employed within six months after successful completion of the program. Learn more.

State Licensure Information

To determine the state(s) in which the program meets or does not meet the requirements, or if PHSC was unable to determine if the program meets the licensing requirements, see below.

  • Meets: Florida
  • Does Not Meet: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands